Sahrawi_Arab_Democratic_Republic_flag_ip Country name: Western Sahara

Sub-region: North Africa

Capital: Laayoune

Located in the northwest of Africa, Western Sahara covers 266,000 km2. Its neighboring countries are the Moroccan province of Tarfaya in the north, Algeria in the northeast, Mauritania in the east and south. The west coast of Western Sahara faces the Atlantic. Although the issue of the claim by other countries remains unresolved, Western Sahara is today classified as a non-autonomous territory by the UN. The Sahara is the ideal destination for lovers of adventure and the great outdoors. However it is advisable to be well informed and to take precautions in terms of security.

Currency: Two currencies are used, Morrocan Dirham (MAD) (western Sahara under Morrocan control) and the Sahrawi peseta (Western Sahara on Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic)

Official languages, languages spoken: Arabic, Berber, Spanish

Vaccinations: Yellow fever for travelers coming from Sub-Saharan Africa and South America

Entry visa: Mandatory

Airlines flying to the destination: Air Sahara Occidental, Royal Air Maroc

Quote /proverb  If you stay sitting down, you will neither see nor know; If you stand up, you will see but not know; if you walk, you will both see and know’ Sahrawi Proverb.

Useful link  No official website