Eritrea_flag_ip Country name:  State of Eritrea

Sub-region: East Africa

Capital : Asmara

The Republic of Eritrea is a country in northeastern part of Africa. At the edge of the geopolitical region of the Horn of Africa, it is bordered by Djibouti in the south, Ethiopia in the west, and Sudan in the north. Its area is 121,144 km². Despite a difficult political and economic context and travel restrictions (a license is required just to leave the capital), the country remains one of the most inspiring destinations in the Horn of Africa, with a unique cultural blend of Abyssinia, Arabic and Mediterranean influences. Southern Eritrea combines typical abyssins landscapes, plateau and peaks as well as a range of archaeological sites. In the north, the city of Keren offers a fascinating insight into the cultural diversity of Eritrea. On the coast of the Red Sea, the city of Massawa with its Islamic influences is the starting point for excursions to the Dakhla islands, a stunning archipelago with empty beaches and thriving reefs.

Currency: Nakfa (ERN)

Official languages, languages spoken: Tigrinya, Arabic and English


  • Recommended: yellow fever, Diphtheria, Tetanus, Poliomyelitis, Typhoid, Hepatitis A, Meningococcal meningitis A + C for extended stays or during epidemics.
  • Malaria treatment recommended
Airlines flying to the destination: Turkish Airlines, Qatar Airways, Emirates, Saudi airlines, EgyptAir, Etihad Airways, Ethiopian Airlines, Gulf Air, Royal Jordanian, Kenya Airways

Quote /proverb:  As clear as morning water